The Anamorphosis Prize (see pdf) was established to promote excellence, dialogue and excitement in the field of self-published photobooks and photo-based artist books. This prize was created & directed by Anouk Kruithof in collaboration with John Phelan and jury members Martha Wilson, Charlotte Cotton and Amanda de la Garza Mata.

The Anamorphosis Prize took place in 2015, 2016 and 2017 and the winner was chosen from a shortlist of 20 books, 3 of which received special jury mention. All submitted books were donated to Franklin Furnace and the shortlist of 20 books was always included in the MoMA library. The winners received $10,000. No strings attached.

Each edition there was an event organized where the longlist of 20 books were on view at places like MoMA library and Rubberfactory in New York City.